Our History...

How it all started...

In the Late 1840’s – our forefathers envisioned a need for a place to worship.
  • 1850 – Reverend Hugh Sullivan started services in a log cabin.
  • 1868 – Reedy Fork Baptist Church was organized.
  • 1868 – The Reverend Tony McElrath was the first pastor. The Deacons were:  Adde Sullivan, Perry Bowling,  Andy Johnson,  Darfus Sweeney, and Dave Evans.
  • 1871 - 1882 – A new structure was built called Brush Harbor Church on land donated by Mr. Newton Sullivan, Sr.
  • 1916 – Mr.  S. B. Huff (a Caucasian) donated the lumber to build the first foundation.
  • 1923 – Reverend W.R. Martin began his pastorate of the church and served 42 years as shepherd until his death in 1965.
  • 1966 – 1977 – Reverend S. C. Cureton came to shepherd the flock. Under his leadership, much progress was made in the areas of church organization, spiritual growth and increased participation in local, state, and national organizations. Under his leadership, our dream became a reality in 1974 when a new sanctuary with seating capacity of 500, an educational building consisting of 11 classrooms, 3 offices, nursery, and bathrooms was constructed and equipped.
  • 1979 – 1983 – Reverend J.C. Moore became pastor of Reedy Fork Baptist Church. Again, much progress was made under his leadership. The first church van was purchased, new office equipment (typewriter, mimeograph machine, and copier) acquired, church grounds were paved, bulletins and post cards with the church picture in color were purchased and the first church constitution was written.
  • December 1983 – present – Reverend T.E. Simmons became our pastor. Since being called as our shepherd, Pastor Simmons has allowed the Lord to lead him in advancing God’s Kingdom. In December 1987, Reverend Simmons became full time pastor.  Under his dynamic leadership, membership has increased 75%. Further, the church has grown spiritually and financially. Under Pastor Simmons leadership, the following deacons were ordained:
    • In 1991   Eugene Berry,  Rodger Burton, Sr.,  Roy Cook,  Fred Dean,  Joe B. Hawthorne,  Joe G. Hawthorne,  Larry Kelly,    Benjamin Lewers, Sr.,  David Lewers, Sr.  and LeeRoy Wolfe.
    • In 1994  Joe Nathan Black,  John Cook,  Andre Gary, Sr.,  Stephon Gary,  Thaddeus Jones,  Beattie Robinson,  Jeffrey Sligh,  Curtis Spurgeon and Waddy Talley, Sr.
    • In 1996  Cleveland Beaufort,  Thomas Grady,  Nathaniel Hawthorne, and  Albert Sanders.
    •    In 2002  Brian Black,  Bryant Dean,  Lonnie Hawthorne,  Willie Lovett,  Jim H. Pyles, Sr.,  John W. Rogers, Sr.  and Kenneth Robinson.
    •  In 2009  Jackson Bruce,  Wade C. Garrett,  Anthony Hill,  Bradley Robinson  and  Kelvin Young.
    •  In January 1998  the honor of Deacons’ Emeritus was bestowed upon Deacon C.O. Jackson, who served as chairman    for 45 years.  Others who have achieved Deacon Emeritus status include Deacons Eugene Berry and the late Deacon Joe B. Hawthorne (1998);  Deacon John H. Cook (2006),  Deacon Wade H. Garrett (2008),  Deacon Thomas Grady (2011), Deacon Willie Lovett (2012),  Deacon Rodger Burton, Sr. (2015),  the late Deacon  John W. Rogers, Sr. (2014) and  Deacon Joe G. Hawthorne (2016).

Expanding the vision...

Those members of the clergy who have united with Reedy Fork Baptist Church and serve or have served as associate ministers include:

  • Rev. Milford Anderson
  • Dr. Reginald A. Logan, Jr.
  • Min. Alfreda Bryant
  • Rev. Virginia Pyles
  • Rev. Maurice Bryant
  • Rev. Steven Sessoms
  • Rev. Patricia Leverett
  • Rev. Simone Teague
  • Min. Tonya Jones

The following persons were licensed to preach by Reedy Fork Baptist Church and given the opportunity to serve as Associate Ministers:

  • Brother Zachary Johnson(1994)
  • Deacon Waddy Talley, Sr. (1995)
  • Deacon Stephon Gary (1995)
  • Brother Kenneth Dean (1996)
  • Deacon Albert Sanders (2000)
  • Brother Jim H. Pyles, Jr. (2007)
  • Sister Anna Hawthorne (2007)
  • Brother Joshua Flemmings (2008)
  • Brother MacArthur Black (2009)
  • Sister Anna B. Cecil (2013)
  • Sister Lillie Workman (2014)

The important role that Sunday School Superintendents have played in Reedy Fork's history merits acknowledgement.  Thus, the following persons have provided dedicated leadership through the years:

  • Paul Sweeney
  • Will Whittenburg
  • J. W. Bowling
  • Elma V.  Sullivan
  • J. A. Byrd
  • U. S. G. Evans
  • Allen Cook
  • C.O. Jackson (1954-1969) 
  • Wade Garrett (1969-1990)
  • Mildred Black (1991-1993)
  • Jerry Earl (1994-1996)
  • Jeanette Chapman (1997-1999)
  • Larry Kelly (2000-2002)
  • Thomas Grady (2003-2004)
  • Willie Lovett (2005-2007)
  • Jim H. Pyles, Jr. (2008-2010)
  • Jeanette Chapman (2011-2013)
  • MacArthur Black (2013-2019)
  • Anna B. Cecil (2013-2019)
  • John Harris (2020-Present)

Our Values ...

Together we serve through:
Worshiping God alone
Loving God and one another
Respecting ALL people
Remaining humble
Practicing honesty and integrity
Living morally
Sharing in generosity through time, talent and tithe
Being non-hypocritical
Being non-judgmental
Not holding grudges
Forgiving others

Promoting a spirit of excellence

Be a part of our story...

Join us every Sunday as we gather to worship together at 8:30 am for Sunday School  and 10:00 am for Worship Service.